#### CYNGOR SIR POWYS COUNTY COUNCIL.

# Standards Committee 4<sup>th</sup> October 2017

REPORT BY: Solicitor to the Council

SUBJECT: Standards Issues

**REPORT FOR:** Decision, Information and Discussion

# A. General Standards Issues for County Councillors and Co-opted Members

### A1 Code of Conduct Training

Code of Conduct training was held on the 16<sup>th</sup> May 2017. Four County Councillors and one Independent Member were unable to attend the training (one County Councillor was on other Council business). Members have been offered 5 dates in late October, early November to complete this training. A further update will be provided at the next meeting.

#### B. Referral of Councillors to Public Services Ombudsman

### **B1.** County Councillor Referrals

**B1.1** The current position regarding existing matters with the Ombudsman is as follows:

04/CC/2016 Ombudsman not investigating

02/CC/2017 Ombudsman originally decided not to investigate – complainant

submitted a request for a review of that decision and the

Ombudsman has now decided to investigate.

04/CC/2017 Relating to eight Councillors – Ombudsman not investigating

#### **C** Dispensations

#### C1 Applications - County Councillors

No applications for dispensation have been received from County Councillors.

#### D Ombudsman's Casebook

The Ombudsman has published Code of Conduct Casebooks for the following periods:

• April 2017 – June 2017

A copy of this Casebook is attached at **Appendix A**.

Back copies of the casebooks can be accessed from the website of the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales at:

http://www.ombudsman-wales.org.uk/en/publications/The-Code-of-Conduct-Casebook.aspx

#### E Annual Letter from the Ombudsman

The Annual Letter from the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales was received on 1<sup>st</sup> September 2017. A copy of this letter is attached at **Appendix B.** 

### F Appointment of Independent Member

The process for appointing an Independent Member has commenced. The post has been advertised in the Brecon and Radnor and the County Times and has also been placed on the front page of the Powys County Council website. To date there have been 31 expressions of interest and 5 applications. The closing date for submitting applications is the 6<sup>th</sup> October 2017. Shortlisting will take place if necessary on the 23<sup>rd</sup> October 2017 with Interviews taking place on the 8<sup>th</sup> November 2017.

The Interview Panel has been agreed and will comprise of the following members:

Mrs S Thompson – High Sheriff
Mrs H Rhydderch-Roberts – Chair of Standards Committee
Mrs J Evans – Independent Member Standards Committee
Councillor S Lewis – County Councillor Member Standards Committee
Community Councillor Hugh Pattrick – Community Councillor Member
Standards Committee.

The appointment will be made at the meeting of Powys County Council on the 25<sup>th</sup> January 2018. The first meeting of the Standards Committee thereafter will be the 7<sup>th</sup> February 2018.

# G. Appointment of Town and Community Council Representatives to the Standards Community Sub-Committee.

- G1 The Town and Community Council elections in May 2017 brought to a close the term of office for Town and Community Councillors sitting on the Standards Community Sub-Committee. A postal election (nominations followed by ballot) was held to elect three Town and Community Councillors one each to represent Brecknockshire, Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire for the new term of office.
- G2 Accordingly the successful candidates are: -

Brecknockshire Hugh Pattrick (Ystradfellte CC)
Montgomeryshire Joy Shearer (Tregynon CC)
Radnorshire Margaret Morris (Glasbury CC)

- G3 The function of making the formal appointments to the Sub-Committee has been delegated to the Standards Committee and accordingly the Committee is requested to formally appoint the new Sub-Committee to comprise the 5 Independent Members; the 3 Community Councillors referred to above and one of the County Councillors sitting on the main Committee.
- G4 The term of office to be served by those appointed to the Sub-Committee will be the maximum term permitted by Regulations. Currently this is 5 years until May 2022.

#### **RECOMMENDED:**

- 1. That the Standards Community Sub-Committee comprise the undermentioned 9 Members :-
- (i) All 5 Independent (Lay) Members of the main Standards Committee.
- (ii) a County Councillor to be nominated.
- (iii) Town Councillor Hugh Pattrick (Ystradfellte Community Council) – elected by the Town and Community Councils in Brecknockshire.
- (iv) Community Councillor Joy Shearer (Tregynon Community Council) elected by the Town and Community Councils in Montgomeryshire.
- (v) Town Councillor Margaret Morris (Glasbury Community Council) elected by the Town and Community Councils in Radnorshire.
- 2. That the terms of office of the 5 Independent (Lay) Members be for the remainder of their terms of office as Independent Members on the main Standards Committee.
- 3. That the terms of office of the County Councillor and Town and Community Councillors be for the maximum term permitted by the existing regulations or by any amending regulations (currently a maximum of five years) or until they

To constitute the Standards Community Sub-Committee.

cease to be Councillors or resign	
whichever shall first occur.	

## H. Meeting Dates

To note dates of future meetings as follows:

Wednesday 7<sup>th</sup> February 2018 Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup> June 2018 Wednesday 3<sup>rd</sup> October 2018

Contact Officer Name:	Tel:	Fax:	Email:
Clive Pinney – Solicitor to	01597 826746	01597 826220	clive.pinney@powys.gov.
the Council			uk